I have been a Swiftie since 2009 and I am very proud of her success. I do love all of her albums, especially Fearless and Speak Now, and of course her new song with Zayn, “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever”. But I must admit – nothing beats her debut album. There is just something so innocent, so relatable about it that even Red and 1989 can never replace. 

Anyone can notice that her work has gradually shifted from country to pop. I miss the simpler, less modern, classically varied instrumentals of her first album back in 2006. The melody of the songs in Taylor Swift is more pleasing to the ear compared to the repetitive, digitally-enhanced notes in 1989. Regarding the lyrics, Taylor is famed for dissing her exes in her music, but the content of her debut album is not confined to failed relationships and problematic boyfriends. “Teardrops On My Guitar” is the epitome of a teenage girl’s unrequited love (which I once related so well to), “Our Song” illustrates the pure, puppy love at adolescent age, “Mary’s Song” is the ultimate ideal a girl can have about her love life, “I’m Only Me When I’m With You” is dedicated to her best friend (Abigail Anderson) appreciating their friendship, etc. 

I acknowledge the fact that Taylor has gone through so much and must have matured a great deal throughout this decade, hence has formed a new set of opinions on dating. Her style reflects her change. Taylor has always been honest in her composing and I still appreciate the effort she invests in her music. From Taylor Swift to 1989, we have all grown with Taylor and witnessed the events in her life through her music. She deserves the hype and the love, but I cannot deny that I miss the old Taylor Swift songs.

