As of now, the one song that hits me hardest emotionally is “We Don’t Talk Anymore” by Charlie Puth featuring Selena Gomez. It gives me such bittersweet feelings as it reminds me of something that once made me blissfully happy but ultimately broke my heart and changed my whole personality. 

Let’s look past Charlie’s amazing vocals and Selena’s soothing voice, and focus on the lyrics. People have criticized this track for its repetitiveness, but I find the lyrics quite well-written and spot-on for the ones with similar experiences. 

“I just heard you found the one, you’ve been looking
You’ve been looking for

I wish I would have known that wasn’t me

Cause even after all this time

I still wonder

Why I can’t move on

Just the way you did so easily”

This verse is heartaching but “so true” to many people. 

“I just hope you’re lying next to somebody

Who knows how to love you like me

There must be a good reason that you’re gone

Every now and then I think you might want me to

Come show up at your door

But I’m just too afraid that I’ll be wrong

Don’t wanna know

If you’re looking into her eyes

If she’s holdin’ onto you so tight the way I did before”

Come on, is there anyone who is not guilty of reminiscing good old times while lamenting the current situation?

“I overdosed

Should’ve known your love was a game

Now I can’t get you out of my brain

Oh, it’s such a shame

That we don’t talk anymore”

I must thank Charlie for addressing the folly of falling for the wrong person and the pity of not achieving what could have been.

Sometimes, the most simple lyrics have the strongest impact on the audience. Sometimes, the more simple they are, the more relatable they can be.

